What’s in season @ the Larchmont Farmers Market…

One of the things I love about living in Los Angeles is how we have farmers markets all-year-round. In my neighborhood, I usually walk or ride my bike to the Larchmont farmers market on Sundays. This gives me a chance to load up on fresh fruits I can take to work and some fresh veggies for Sunday dinner.

Compared to the other farmers markets in Los Angeles, this one is small but that’s why I like it. You see the same vendors each week and they know their products which makes me feel confident when I buy from them. Plus, you get to know your community.

From the photo below, you can see that it’s the season for peaches, nectarines, and apricots. Yum!

For veggies, squash is in season. I know radish is usually a spring vegetable but I loved the colors in this summer squash/radish display at one of the vegetable stalls.

But it’s more than just fruits and vegetables in this intimate farmers market. There’s the guy selling Himalayan sea salt, the woman at the balsamic vinegar stand, the cheese truck, and of course the boulangerie. And when you head back into the corner of the farmers market, you see the prepared food stalls. I just spotted this tea and scones stall for the first time. Loved the freshly brewed “Fiona” tea infused with strawberries.

I picked up some tasty olives, baba ghanoush, and feta cheese at the Mediterranean food stall too. It was super fresh and I ended up bringing the items to a picnic that evening. Unfortunately, there weren’t any leftovers.

Oh! I can’t end this entry without showing you the lunch I had from the farmers market – chicken tamales! There wasn’t a place to sit and eat so I decided to get the tamales to-go. You can see it steaming as it was being packed up. When I got home, I immediately opened the box and the tamales were still hot thanks to the corn husks that it was wrapped in. I poured the green chile sauce all over the tamale and gorged.

If you want to find out what’s in season, Epicurious has a great map where you find out what’s in season month-to-month wherever in the US you are. Just click the month at the top and then select your state to see what’s in season in your area.

Lastly, here’s an awesome LA Times interactive map where you can find your neighborhood farmers market with days and hours they operate in Los Angeles.

2 thoughts on “What’s in season @ the Larchmont Farmers Market…

    • No way! If you ever want a new foodie pal to dine with, let me know. Btw, we have a mutual friend… Goh! Looking forward to seeing the movie you guys made in Sept in LA.

Leave a Reply

