Bacon + eggs + cheese + biscuits = brunch [RECIPE]

Brunch is one of my favorite meals of the day. And when you can brunch with a group of friends – it’s even better. This past weekend, my friends and I created a Facebook event and invited everyone to bring a dish. The hardest thing was to find a place large enough to accommodate us. We chose the picnic benches bear Trails Cafe in Griffith Park. This way, folks could buy a hot cup of coffee or go hiking afterwards. The event was a success! Friends from LA and OC gathered around an entire picnic table chock full of food from Porto’s Bakery, Susina’s Bakery, and homemade goodness.

I typically bake something sweet but this time around, I decided to bake something savory. I found a recipe for Bacon-Cheese-Pull-Aparts (see end of blog post). It combined all the flavors I love for brunch so I couldn’t resist. Also, it only has six ingredients:

  1. Egg
  2. Milk
  3. Cheese
  4. Bacon
  5. Pillsbury Grands dough
  6. Green onion

When you mix the contents in a bowl, do it gently so you don’t flatten the biscuit dough. TIP: Use a wooden spoon because it’s more gentle on the dough than a metal spatula. Follow the directions and put it in a glass baking dish that has been greased — I used butter and flour.

I baked my dish about 28 minutes – I closely watched it to make sure the tops were golden brown. Plus, I knew it was ready because my house smelled like brunch (bacon, eggs, and cheese).

bacon eggs cheese biscuits recipe

The dish is best served right out of the oven. My dish was warm when it got to the potluck but quickly cooled because of the commute. I would definitely make this again!

RECIPE: Bacon-Cheese-Pull-Aparts

42 thoughts on “Bacon + eggs + cheese + biscuits = brunch [RECIPE]

  1. Pingback: Wish I could eat this every morning! « Gray Koch

  2. Seriously you said there’s the link at the bottom… I love how they’re willing to grumpily jump on your for not posting the amounts but they aren’t willing to even read the post or the 40 other comments asking where to find the recipe. UGGGH. ha. I’m so excited to try this, thanks for posting the idea and link (:

  3. Making this for Thanksgiving morning!!! Love it because I can modify it for my 10 yr. old nephew, who cannot have eggs, cheese and milk, so I will make him a small pan with pre-cooked sausage and his rice milk…great thing is, it doesn’t have to have cheese. I’ll let you know how it turns out and if it is a hit with him.

  4. I agree about adding more eggs, a total if 7 is prefect. However I also added Franks hot sauce to my egg mixture..(that’s how I always make scramble eggs) then about a1/3 cup of milk. Otherwise all else the same…Id suggest this recipe to anyone!

  5. I’ve made this a few times, thanks for sharing the recipe (which is included, for those wondering, in the link at the bottom of the original post.

  6. Pingback: Brunch of bacon, eggs, cheese and biscuits | pinterest-daily.com

    • I don’t recommend making it the night before because the dough can get really soggy. Best to make it the day of – an hour or two before the event. Enjoy!

  7. I live in Australia, and have never seen “Pillsbury Grands dough”.
    What is it and is there something i can I use instead?
    Thanks

    • Tracey, it’s a pre-made dough you can buy at the grocery stores in the States. If you have a pre-made dough for biscuits in Australia, you can use that — or you can make your own biscuit dough and substitute.

  8. Agreed, brunch is the BEST! And, even more so with friends. This looks so simple and SO yummy! I literally can not wait to try it!

  9. Pingback: Brunch of bacon, eggs, cheese and biscuits | Foods, Drinks & Recipes

  10. Pingback: Bacon Cheese Pull Aparts | What2Cook

Leave a comment